The Berger Collection

Berger Prize

The William M. B. Berger Prize for British Art History

In 2001 the Berger Collection Educational Trust and The British Art Journal established a prize for excellence in the field of British art history, in honor of the memory of the late William M. B. Berger. The prize was created to recognize that some of the very finest work in art history is being carried out in the field of British art, and that much of it is being published by The British Art Journal. Since its inception, the Berger Prize has come to be recognized as the most prestigious in the field. It celebrates outstanding achievement in the history of British art and is administered by The British Art Journal, the leading research journal, and awarded jointly with the Berger Collection Educational Trust of Denver, Colorado.


The prize of £5,000 will be awarded annually by The British Art Journal in association with the Berger Collection Educational Trust of Denver, Colorado.


The Berger Prize was created to recognize excellence in the history of British art. It will be awarded annually, during July, to an outstanding book, exhibition, or exhibition catalogue (in any language) appearing during the preceding calendar year (January-December).


A panel of no fewer than five and no more than seven assessors selects the recipient. The assessors committee includes the editor of The British Art Journal (Mr. Robin Simon), and is chaired by Dr. Timothy J. Standring, Gates Foundation Curator of Painting and Sculpture, Denver Art Museum, and Trustee of the Berger Collection Educational Trust.


Institutions and publishers are welcome to nominate individuals they believe will fulfill the criteria set for the prize. Other nominations should be supported by the names of two individual scholars of good standing, together with their addresses and telephone numbers/email addresses.

Nominations should be made to:
      The Secretary
      William MB Berger Prize for British Art History
      The British Art Journal
      46 Grove Lane
      London SE5 8ST, UK
      or via email:
Upon the assessors' acceptance of a nomination, copies of the work in question must be submitted for further consideration.

Berger Prize 2016

The winner of the William M.B. Berger Prize for British Art History 2016 (books published January 1 – December 31, 2015) is The People's Galleries: Art Museums and Exhibitions in Britain 1800–1914 by Giles Waterfield (Yale University Press for the Paul Mellon Centre). The Prize was present on November 30, 2016, by Professor Frances Spalding at a reception in the Society of Antiquaries in London.

Recent Winners


William L Pressly, James Barry's Murals at the Royal Society of Arts: Envisioning a New Public Art. Cork University Press.


G. A. Bremner, Imperial Gothic: Religious Architecture and High Anglican Culture in the British Empire, 1840–1870. Yale University Press.


Emily Howe, Henrietta McBurney, David Park, Stephen Rickerby, Lisa Shekede, Wall Paintings of Eton. Scala Arts Publishers.


Terry Friedman, The Eighteenth Century Church in Britain. Yale University Press for the Paul Mellon Centre.


Charlotte Gere and Judy Rudoe, Jewellery in the Age of Queen Victoria: A Mirror to the World. British Museum Press.


Diana Donald and Jane Munro, eds., Endless Forms: Charles Darwin, Natural Science and the Visual Arts. Yale Center for British Art and Fitzwilliam Museum, Cambridge, in association with Yale University Press.